Northern National Parks

tanzania-serengeti-national-parkTanzania’s Northern Circuit is a collection of National Parks, reserves, conservation areas and wildlife concessions across the region. These include the world-famous Serengeti National Park, the Ngorongoro Crater and Highlands, and the lesser-known Lake Manyara and Tarangire National Park. All exist to preserve and protect an incredible abundance of seasonal and resident wildlife and their habitats, including the world’s largest annual mammal migration of millions of wildebeest and zebra. This area has become increasingly busy with tourists, but if you know where to go, you can get away from the crowds to enjoy the best of this impressive region.

Arusha National Park
Lake Manyara National Park
Tarangire National Park
Ngorongoro Conservation
Serengeti National Park
Olduvai Gorge

Southern National Parks

tanzania-southern-national-park-walking-safariOften overlooked by many safari operators in favour of the northern parks, the southern parks of the Selous and Ruaha are worth serious consideration and are the preferred destination for most who are really keen on their safari. The benefits of heading to the south is that, where the very north of the Serengeti gives the numbers of game, along with some seclusion, the southern parks are still very much “frontier” parks and so are noticeably less busy (they also feature the same spread of species as the north, but more like a thousand, rather than 2 million). The second important point is that, where the average lodge cost in the north is around $700 per person per night, the lodges in the south, where they offer a similar experience, are around $2-300 less.

Selous Game Reserve
Ruaha National Park
Udzungwa Mountains National Park
Mikumi National Park
Katavi National Park
Kitulo Plateau National Park

Western National Park

National Parks western-national-parks-tanzaniaThe Western circuit not well know by many provides a magificent glimpse of Tanzania’s incredible wildlife and great scenery of the rugged terrain, offshore of lake victoria making it an adventurous and breathing experince for safari circuit and hiking.

Gombe Streams National Park
Mahale Mountains National Park
Rubondo National Park
Saanane Island National Park

Eastern National Park

eastern-national-parks-tanzaniaThe eastern portion of Tanzania contains Mkomazi and Sadaani National Parks. These are the newest national parks in Tanzania and so are less visited than the parks in the rest of the country. They are more private and secluded than other parks and are rife with specialties that can be found nowhere else. They are well worth a visit!

Mkomazi National Park
Saadani National Park

The Swahili Coast

Swahili CoastThe Swahili Coast refers to a coastal area in Southeast Africa inhabited by the Swahili people. It mainly consists of littoral Kenya, Tanzania and northern Mozambique. The term may also include some of the Indian Ocean islands, such as Zanzibar, Pate and Comoros, which lie off the Swahili Coast.

Swahili Coast